How it works? - Universe of emotions

Lenguage: ENG / ES 

To be able to move within the universe of emotions is important to know its structure and to know what items we are going to find in it; like galaxies, emotions, comets as well as different types of lines and colours and their meaning. To understand how the map works we’ll explain each component and the relationships between them.

cartel universo de emociones

central -prism

The universe distributes its main emotions (happiness, love, cheerfulness, anger, sadness and fear) in a central prism.
The central prism represents the connection between positive emotions (on top: happiness, love, cheerfulness) and negative emotions (underneath: anger, sadness and fear).
The triangle formed by solid lines shows the affinity between them, while the dashed lines show its opposition by polarity. The shape we see draws a virtual 3D space in which the universe is configured.
Even though galaxies are grouped on the upper part as positive and at the bottom as negative, positive and negative are understood as polarity or opposition, not as good or bad.


Galaxies are a set of emotions that form a group around the main emotion. There are subgroups that also form galaxies although its central core is not an emotion itself (social emotions, aesthetic emotions, surprise).


Emotions that belong to a galaxy are divided into 4 levels:

Level 1– It is the main emotion with a halo that surrounds it and gives name to the whole galaxy.

Level 2– Emotions with a bigger halo are usually connected directly and with a solid line to the centre of the galaxy, with the main emotion.

Level 3– They are usually related to level two emotions and are connected with a dotted line.

Level 4– These are the smallest emotions and are peripheral to the galaxy. They can be connected with one another with a dotted line, showing their affinity. They can also be seen on their own, showing their position of proximity with the emotions of the same region.

The size of the halo or irradiation of the emotions is absolutely random and it shows a merely aesthetic criteria.


We also have comets. Comets are emotions that are capable to move from one area to another. They are related to different kinds of emotions both positive and negative. Its definition is sometimes ambivalent. Its inner shape is oval as it is the dotted line that shows its itinerary.


Types of lines


A solid line shows direct connection-relation between the main emotion in the galaxy and a secondary emotion or subgroup of emotions.


A dashed line shows a relationship of polarity or opposition. It can be seen both at the central prism (bolder) or between emotions from different galaxies.


A dotted line shows the relationships between emotions; and connection by affinity or emotional proximity.




The intensity of colour in the main galaxies must be taken into account too, it is important as it shows which emotions are low-intensity and which are high-intensity.

It can be observed that between the main galaxies (Happiness-Love-Joy/Anger-Sadness-Fear) there are three emotions with a more saturated colour (Joy-Anger-Fear) and the other three with a less saturated colour (Happiness-Love-Sadness); this indicates the high or low activation of the emotions on that galaxy.

Now that you know all the elements featured at the Universe of Emotions we hope you can fully enjoy the map, understanding better what happens inside us.

Although the configuration to the Universe of Emotions is based on knowledge and scientific theories, its disposition is subject to different kinds of interpretations, due to the intangibility of the emotions.


*The extent of the halo or irradiation of each emotion is totally arbitrary and corresponds to a purely design criterion.

Updating ..
Your cart is currently empty.